The Department of Materials Science currently has eleven working groups. Eight of these work and conduct research on the Eastside Campus of the Faculty of Engineering, two at the Helmholtz Center Hereon in Geesthacht and one at the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology (ISiT) in Itzehoe with the "ISiT@CAU" branch.


Funktionale Nanomaterials

Prof. Dr. Rainer Adelung

Biomaterialis and Biosensors

Prof. Dr. Zeynep Altintas

Composite Materials

Prof. Dr. Tayebeh Ameri

Multicomponent Materials

Prof. Dr. Franz Faupel

Synthesis and Real Structur

Prof. Dr. Lorenz Kienle

Nanoscale Magnetic Materials

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jeffrey McCord

Microsystems and Technology Transfer

Prof. Dr. Axel Müller-Groeling

Inorganic Funktional Materials

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eckhard Quandt

Metallic Biomaterials

Prof. Dr. Regine Willumeit-Römer

Computational Materials Science

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Wulfinghoff

Corrosion and Surface Technology

Prof. Dr. Mikhail Zheludkevich

Emeriti and Retired Professors
Sensorik und Festkörperionik

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Werner Weppner


Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Brocks (GKSS)


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Jäger

Allgemeine Materialwissenschaft

Prof. Dr. Helmut Föll

Stanford Engineering

Prof. Robert Huggins

Materialien und Prozesse der Nanosystemtechnik

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Wagner

Functional Nano Materials

  • Rainer Adelung

Bioinspired Materials and ...

  • Zeynep Altintas

Composite Materials

Multicomponent Materials

  • Franz Faupel

Synthesis and Real Structure

  • Lorenz Kienle

Nanoscale Magnetic Materials

  • Jeffrey McCord

Mikrosystems and Technology ...

  • Axel Müller-Groeling

Inorganic Functional Materials

  • Eckhard Quandt>

Metallic Biomaterials

  • Regine Willumeit-Römer

Computational Materials Sc.

  • Stephan Wulfinghoff

Corrosion and Surface Tech.

  • Mikhail Zheludkevich